Settling

I am not going to use any qualifier here: After my first marriage, I really shouldn’t have done it a second time and after the second, absolutely not a third time. My wife is such a pain in the neck. Not just once in a while, but almost constantly there’s a complaint about something or nagging about something.

My personal lifestyle is remarkably “easy going.” Things just roll off me for the most part and if they don’t, well, as the banal phrase goes, “It is what it is” becomes the mantra.

It’s unlikely I’ll divorce her. She’s pushing 60 and I 70. As I’ve said before, moving’s a pain and like George Carlin often noted, we’ve got “too much stuff.” How dreadful is lethargy, eh?

There’s so much in life, hell, if not all of it, that’s not “controllable. Try as we may, we are never in full control of anything, a small part perhaps, but I think often that it’s not really enough to matter.

So, I move along, playing as they say, the cards that have dealt. The outcomes most often are mediocre at best and never exactly what I want.

I suppose I’ve gotten to the point at which I simply settle.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment